Cool as Katz

What does singer/song-writer Adam Katz and science have in common? US!

We met Adam in 2012 at Jamm for Genes and discovered he has music in his genes. Now, the 24-year-old is hitting the big time, with his first single, ‘Stars’ getting plenty of air time on mainstream radio across Australia and topping charts in the UK. We sat down with the rising star for a quick Q & A to share his inspirations and why he’s such a big advocate for Children’s Medical Research Institute.

  • What’s  your relationship with Jeans for Genes/ CMRI

I went along to the Jamm for Jeans last year and was picked as one of the top three performers, so got to perform at a music conference at Darling Harbour, which was like a meet and greet for record labels, artists, song-writers etc

I developed a strong relationship with the guys at Jeans for Genes. I’ve got my own connection with the cause, so it’s something close to me and something I strongly believe in supporting.

I want to show anyone can be affected by childhood diseases or cancer… so it’s a universal cause people should get behind.

  • How did you get into music?

When I was 12-years-old, I was singing Alicia Keys’ song ‘Fallin’ in the school talent contest and my music teacher’s son, was a music producer at the time and liked what he heard, so we teamed up.

  • If you weren’t chasing your music dream, what career would you have chosen? 

I think I’d always be in music. In the industry/business side, if not with music. I love intellectual things as well as creative things, but music is my passion, so I’d incorporate it somewhere.

  • How would you describe your music?

Melodic-pop/ R&B. It’s pop, but driven by melody as opposed to the beat. I was really into rapping when I was younger, but then I found my style around the age of 19.

  • Describe yourself in three words

Melodic, passionate, chocoholic.

  • Who are your influences?

Micahel Jackson, Ne-Yo’s early stuff, Craig David…

  • Tell us about your latest single, ‘Stars’

It’s about two lovers brought together, but when they’re together they’re a mess and they always fight. So they push each other away, thinking it’s for the best even though they love each other, but in the end the stars align to bring them back together, because it’s meant to be.

  • How can people get their hands on it?

I have a national club tour along the east coast and we’ll be selling singles there or they can purchase it through the iTunes store.

Leave a Reply

